CONGRATS to Our New House Leadership Team!

Yesterday was the first day of the 2015 General Assembly, and the Kentucky House Republican Caucus held elections for it’s leadership team.


Newly added to the leadership slate this year is the position of  Caucus Campaign Chairman, and we are excited to announce Representative Jonathan Shell’s election to that role!

RPK Chairman Steve Robertson congratulated Shell on his election to this newly created position. “We are very excited for Rep. Jonathan Shell’s election to the newly created position of Caucus Campaign Chairman. Shell is truly one of the Republican Party’s rising stars, and we are lucky to have such a strong, ambitious leader laying the foundation for our 2016 House races,” said Robertson.



House Republican Floor Leader Jeff Hoover was elected  to an eighth consecutive term by his fellow House Republican legislators. The re-election of Rep. Hoover to another two year term extends his record as the longest serving House Republican Floor Leader in the history of the Commonwealth.

“I am humbled by the confidence and support my fellow Republican legislators have shown in me by once again selecting me as their leader,” Rep. Hoover said. “Kentucky has stayed in the status quo for too long because of continued inaction by the House Majority Leadership on a number of key issues, and I stand ready along with my fellow House Republicans to fight to see that our Commonwealth reaches the success it justly deserves.”



Representative Stan Lee was elected to Caucus Chair, and Representative Jim DeCesare was elected as Republican Whip.

“I want to thank my fellow members for electing me as the new Caucus Chair for our caucus,” said Rep. Lee. “I also look forward to working with them on issues of policy that are important to the people of Kentucky, and also working toward the fulfillment of a Republican majority in the House in 2016.”

“Today’s caucus elections illustrate a united front for our caucus as we seek to take Kentucky in a new direction, and that House Republicans are the ones who can achieve it,” said Rep. DeCesare. “I look forward in working with Leader Hoover and Caucus Chair Lee to attain those goals over the next two years and beyond.”

Republican Party of Kentucky Chairman Steve Robertson released the following statement congratulating the newly elected Republican leadership team for the Kentucky House:

“I’d like to extend a big congratulations to Jeff Hoover and the newly elected leadership team for the Kentucky House Republican Caucus and thank them in advance for all of the hard work they’ll put in this year pursuing conservative policies and a Republican agenda in the state legislature,” said RPK Chairman Steve Robertson. “We need strong leaders in Frankfort to represent our best interests, and I am confident this team will lead our Commonwealth in the right direction.”

*By providing your phone number, you are consenting to receive text messages and calls including automated calls from the Republican Party of Kentucky. Msg & data rates may apply. Message frequency varies. Reply STOP to opt-out, reply HELP for help. Terms & conditions/privacy policy apply.

Join Our Team

Republican Party of